Nissan North America, Inc
The brake lights may not illuminate, increasing the risk of a crash.
Free. Instant. No signup. Pulls recalls and complaints for your exact vehicle.
Couldn't find that VIN. Check the digits and try again.
severe Owners of the 2017 Nissan Sentra have filed 12 NHTSA complaints about the lighting at roughly $250 to repair (U.S. federal records, as of September 2026). Source: NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation. See lighting across all vehicles →
| Model year | lighting complaints |
|---|---|
| 2014 Sentra | 3 |
| 2016 Sentra | 8 |
| 2017 Sentra (this page) | 12 |
| 2018 Sentra | 12 |
| 2019 Sentra | 19 |
| 2020 Sentra | 4 |
Among the 6 model years of Nissan Sentra in our records for lighting problems, this one ranks #3 by owner-complaint volume.
The brake lights may not illuminate, increasing the risk of a crash.
The manufacturer has issued service bulletins covering lighting on this vehicle — documented repair instructions, service campaigns, or warranty extensions sent to dealers. A TSB isn't a recall (it's not a free safety remedy), but it's the manufacturer acknowledging the issue and how to fix it.
HEADLAMP, FOG LAMP, OR REAR COMBINATION LAMP FOGGING This bulletin has been amended. See AMENDMENT HISTORY on the last page. Please discard previous versions of this bulletin.
full bulletin at NHTSA ↗2016-2019 SENTRA; ENGINE NO CRANK/NO START IF YOU CONFIRM The engine will not crank when pressing the push-button ignition switch and applying the brake pedal. ï· ACCESSORY and IGNITION ON modes can be turned on and off with the no start condition present. ï· The stop lamps will be inoperative with the no-start condition present. ACTION Install a new brake lamp switch and install a rubber grommet with the parts listed in PARTS INFORMATION on the last page of this bulletin.
full bulletin at NHTSA ↗FOG LAMP AND/OR HEADLAMP FOGGING This bulletin has been amended to add Fog Lamps and modify one step in the flow chart on page 3. No other changes have been made. Please discard previous versions of this bulletin.
full bulletin at NHTSA ↗Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications. Bring the bulletin number to your dealer or shop.
Owners report sealed low-beam LED headlight assemblies that cannot be serviced by bulb replacement alone. When a low-beam fails, the entire front assembly requires removal—bumper off, wiring disconnected—and replacement. One owner was quoted $1,100 for an OEM unit plus $300 labor; an aftermarket assembly cost $342. That repair alone can exceed the purchase price of a used 2017 Sentra, putting many owners in an uneconomical position.
Six owners received notice of NHTSA Campaign 21V135000 (Exterior Lighting) but could not complete the recall because Nissan dealers reported parts on back-order for extended periods, well past reasonable timeframes. One owner's brake lights failed four years after the recall was completed, with traction control warning light also on; the dealer denied warranty coverage because the vehicle had exceeded its 12-month extended coverage window.
A brake light switch failure at 98,000 miles prevented the vehicle from starting without warning; it restarted later and was replaced at the dealer. One complaint mentions a front stop lamp that stopped working. One unrelated complaint mentioned in the cluster appears to describe airbags and body damage and is outside the lighting scope.
Same Nissan Sentra lighting reports on nearby years: 2018 · 2019
Low-beam LED headlight bulbs fail and cannot be serviced individually; entire headlight assembly must be replaced. Access requires bumper and assembly removal.
When: 130,000 miles reported in one case
Symptoms owners cite: Low-beam headlight out or dimmed; Headlight system error warning message
Repairs/costs cited: Aftermarket assembly ~$342; OEM assembly ~$1,100 plus $300 labor. No individual bulb replacement possible.
Recalls/TSBs owners mention: No recalls or TSBs mentioned for this specific failure mode.
Brake lights fail to illuminate despite successful NHTSA Campaign 21V135000 recall repair completion. Occurs approximately 4 years after recall work, with traction control warning light also illuminated.
When: ~92,000 miles, 4 years after recall repair
Symptoms owners cite: Brake lights fail to illuminate when pedal depressed; Traction control warning light illuminated
Repairs/costs cited: Not repaired; customer stated repair exceeded 12-month extended warranty coverage.
Recalls/TSBs owners mention: NHTSA Campaign 21V135000 (Exterior Lighting) completed; manufacturer confirmed warranty coverage exceeded and opened case but did not cover repair.
Six owners received recall notification for Campaign 21V135000 (Exterior Lighting) but parts were not available from dealers for extended period, preventing recall completion.
When: Not specified; at time of complaint filing
Symptoms owners cite: Recall notification received but unable to schedule repair
Repairs/costs cited: No repairs completed due to parts unavailability.
Recalls/TSBs owners mention: NHTSA Campaign 21V135000 (Exterior Lighting) issued but parts supply delayed beyond reasonable timeframe.
Brake light switch fails, causing vehicle to not start. No warning light precedes failure.
When: ~98,000 miles
Symptoms owners cite: Vehicle fails to start without warning light; Vehicle restarts after delay
Repairs/costs cited: Brake light switch replaced at dealer; repaired.
Recalls/TSBs owners mention: No recalls or TSBs mentioned.
Front stop lamp lighting stops working.
When: Not specified
Symptoms owners cite: Stop lamp not illuminating
Repairs/costs cited: Not specified.
Recalls/TSBs owners mention: No recalls or TSBs mentioned.
Synthesized from 12 NHTSA owner complaints — unverified consumer allegations, summarized for patterns. The verbatim filings appear below.
Low beam headlight failed. It is available for inspection. Drove car with only one low beam headlight. Not safe. Yes. Confirmed by independent service center. Had independent mechanic perform a pre-purchase inspection. They advised that my passenger side low beam headlight was out but they they would not be able to repair it quickly because it required removing the front bumper and removing…
It's a meaningful issue. 12 complaints have been filed and the failure mode causes operational problems for owners. Repairs average $250.
Mileage data is limited for this issue. Owners report failures across a wide range, suggesting cause is more about driving conditions and maintenance than mileage alone.
Independent shops typically charge around $250 for lighting repairs on this vehicle. Dealer pricing tends to run 20-40% higher. The exact figure depends on the specific failure mode, parts availability, and your local labor rates. If you're outside factory warranty, an extended service contract often covers this category.
Yes — 1 active recall(s) cover lighting issues on this vehicle. Recall fixes are always free regardless of mileage or warranty status. Use the VIN decoder at the top of the page to check if your specific vehicle is affected.